Can a Goalkeeper Pick Up The Ball From A Throw-in?

Can a Goalkeeper Pick Up The Ball From A Throw-in?

Goalkeepers in soccer have some special rules compared to other players.

They can pick up the ball, but there’s a bit of confusion when it comes to throw-ins.

Can goalkeepers still use their hands during throw-ins? Well, it depends on who’s doing the throw-in. If a player from the other team is doing the throw-in, then the goalkeeper can catch or pick up the ball.

However, if a player from the goalkeeper’s team is doing the throw-in, the goalkeeper can’t use their hands to catch or pick up the ball.

So even goalkeepers have to follow the rule of not using their hands during throw-ins. And this rule applies to other situations in the game as well, not just throw-ins.

If you’re a goalkeeper or simply interested in soccer, it’s important to invest some time in understanding these rules completely.

It will be worthwhile and help you navigate the game better.

Using the Goalkeeper as an Extra Player in Soccer

Can a Goalkeeper Pick Up The Ball From A Throw-in?

The goalkeeper’s job goes beyond just stopping shots on goal.

Underestimating their potential as extra players can be a missed opportunity.

It’s crucial to know what a goalkeeper can and can’t do, especially during direct passes like throw-ins, to make the most of their abilities.

When the ball is thrown directly to the goalkeeper from a throw-in, one challenge they face is resisting the urge to immediately grab the ball.

If they handle the ball in this situation, the referee awards a free-kick to the opposing team.

The free-kick is taken from where the goalkeeper first touched the ball unless it happened within the 6-yard box.

In that case, the free-kick is taken from the 6-yard line closest to where the goalie touched the ball.

It’s interesting to note that this kind of free-kick is indirect, which means the ball can’t be scored directly into the goal but has to be touched by another player first.

Surprisingly, while a goalkeeper can’t pick up the ball from a throw-in, they are allowed to take one.

According to soccer rules, any player, including the goalkeeper, can perform a throw-in.

Goalkeepers usually keep their gloves on during throw-ins to save time because taking them off can be a hassle.

Understanding the expanded role of goalkeepers and their limitations in direct passes like throw-ins helps teams fully utilize their skills and strategically involve them as an additional asset on the field.

Limitations on Goalkeepers Handling the Ball from a Throw-In

It’s crucial to understand an important rule about goalkeepers and their ability to handle the ball directly from a throw-in.

“An indirect free kick is awarded if a goalkeeper, inside their penalty area…touches the ball with the hands after… receiving it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate”

Laws of the Game

The rule is clear: goalkeepers cannot touch the ball with any part of their body and then use their hands.

This means they are not allowed to handle the ball until another player has made contact with it, regardless of how long the goalkeeper may have controlled it.

This rule highlights that the goalie cannot be the first to touch the ball during a throw-in and then handle it.

They can only get involved after another player has made a touch.

This adds an extra level of restriction to what the goalkeeper can do and ensures fair play in the game.

Understanding this limitation is important for both goalie and their teammates.

It helps prevent potential rule violations and allows teams to follow the rules while strategically utilizing the goalkeeper’s skills during throw-ins.

Using The Goalkeeper in Throw-Ins as a Strategic Option

Notwithstanding the restrictions on goalies handling the ball directly from a throw-in, there are situations where throwing the ball to your goalies can be a smart and advantageous choice.

It’s interesting to note that goalies often find themselves unmarked during throw-ins, which creates an opportunity to make the most of their skills and contribute to the team’s overall strategy.

Skilled goalies should have the ability to receive the ball with their feet and make accurate passes or kicks up the field to their teammates.

This method of involving the man between the sticks in the game is completely acceptable and follows the rules of the sport.

This way, teams can effectively initiate attacks, maintain possession, or quickly transition the ball to other players on the team.

Exceptions to Goalies’ Handball Abilities

Goalies are famous for their special ability to use their hands to stop or hold the ball.

But hold on, they have situations where they can’t take advantage of this privilege.

We previously talked about the limits on goalies when their teammate throws them the ball.

Now, let’s look at what happens when an opponent throws the ball to the goalie. In this specific case, the goalie can pick up the ball without any problems or restrictions.

It’s similar to how the goalie would react if an opponent kicked the ball toward the goal in any other way.

The goalie can freely use their hands and choose the best way to deal with the incoming ball.

Now, let’s talk about when the goalie gets a pass from one of their teammates while the game is still on.

Whether the goalie can touch the ball with their hands in this situation depends on how the ball was passed.

If the player purposely kicks the ball with their foot, aiming to pass it directly to the goalie, then the goalie can’t handle the ball.

This rule is in place to prevent teams from wasting time or being overly protective.

However, if the ball is passed to the goalie using another body part like the head or chest, then the goalie is allowed to handle the ball.

This rule, known as the “back pass rule,” lets the goalie use their hands when the ball reaches them unintentionally

Restrictions on Goalies Handling the Ball in Different Situations

There are more situations where goalies are not allowed to handle the ball, which highlights the limitations of their handball abilities.

One such situation occurs when the goalie has already had the ball under control in their hands and then drops it.

Once the goalkeeper releases the ball, they cannot handle it again until another player has touched or made contact with it.

Only after this interaction can the goalie legally use their hands to handle the ball again.

This rule prevents them from gaining an unfair advantage by quickly grabbing the ball again after releasing it.

It’s important to remember that goalies can only handle the ball within their penalty area.

No matter how the ball ends up in the goalie’s possession, if they are outside their penalty area, it is considered a violation for them to handle the ball.

Breaking this rule can lead to disciplinary action, such as receiving a red card and being sent off the field, depending on the seriousness of the offense.

Being aware of these situations and limitations, goalies can navigate the game effectively, avoiding violations and maintaining fair play within the sport.